[Skip to Content]

50 Books | 50 Covers of 2017: About

View selections from the 50 Books | 50 Covers of 2017 competition! Scroll through and share your favorites.

This survey of the best in book design represents perhaps the longest-standing legacy in American graphic design. Beginning in 1923, the Fifty Books of the Year was an annual mainstay of AIGA. As dust jackets became more common, covers were added to the competition. In 2012, Design Observer, in partnership with AIGA, began hosting the competition and through a continuing joint venture, we are delighted to usher in another year of amazing book and cover design.

Selections are included in the AIGA Design Archives, a searchable database of historical images documenting nearly 100 years of design excellence from this time-honored tradition. Winners of 50 Books | 50 Covers of 2011–2017 can be viewed on Design Observer. Physical copies of the winners become part the Rare Book and Manuscript Library collection at Columbia University’s Butler Library in New York City for future generations to study and enjoy.

In recent decades, jurors have included Antonio Alcalá, Gail Anderson, Michael Bierut, Andrew Blauvelt, Michael Carabetta, Arthur Cherry, Richard Eckersley, Vanessa Eckstein, Barbara Glauber, Carin Goldberg, Jessica Helfand, Maricris Herrera, Jerry Herring, David High, Yasuyo Iguchi, Chip Kidd, Eric Madsen, Peter Mendelsund, Jennifer Morla, Lars Müller, Franc Nunoo-Quarcoo, Molly Renda, Paul Sahre, Jill Shimabukuro, Lucille Tenazas, Cheryl Towler Weese, Jack Woody, and many more.

Get started today!